Fences Review (non spoilers)!!

I went to go see Fences today with my mother and at first I didn’t know how I felt about it but after sitting on it for a couple of hours I’m ready to give my review.I went into this movie being aware of the play, so I knew certain plot points beforehand. I like the overall story. It’s touching in a way that you don’t expect. It’s a hard story that I feel a lot of people will unexpectedly find that they can really relate to it. Denzel Washington and Viola Davis’s chemistry together is pure magic!! I could watch them act beside each other for the rest of time! Denzel’s character Troy is a hard character to sympathize with, but even with that being said Denzel still brings a charisma out in him that will have you smiling! Viola’s character is a strong black woman that has vulnerabilities but will stand by her man until the end! I also loved Troy’s chemistry with his best friend Bono (played by Stephan Henderson.) Denzel and Stephan just seemed like they’ve been friends for their whole lives and haven’t missed a moment with each other.Troy and his son Cory (played by Jovan Adepo) reminded me of the type of relationship my own father and brother had. Now my father wasn’t as extreme as Troy with his harshness but he was damn close. Troy is an old school, stuck in his ways, and too stubborn to admit that he’s afraid of change and growth.Now my favorite character of the whole movie was Uncle Gabe! Mykelti Williams does and outstanding job as Gabriel! He’s sweet, caring, and just so damn loveable! He always comes into the movie at the perfect time. If the movie was getting a little slow or a scene was playing out to long, he would show up and put a smile on your face or even have some tears stream down your face. Now with all of that being said this movie was good at adapting the play into a film but it was just a little to slow moving at points. I feel that if they would’ve trimmed out maybe about a half hour worth of some of the monologues in the backyard here and there, that this movie would have been perfect. All in all the movie was pretty good just some scenes were dragged out too long. It felt like I was watching the play out right. Which isn’t always a bad thing but it made for dull moments. I would give this movie a 7 out of 10. 

Just a little fun fact in a recent interview Denzel said that they considered casting his own son John David Washington for the part of Cory but ended up deciding that he was too old for the role. I would love to see Denzel and his son John act across from each other! 

Like I said I did enjoy the movie overall, it just dragged a little bit in certain spots. I would love to know what you thought of it. Let me know in the comments if you agree or disagree with me.

Leave a Reply

