Disney Animated movies going Live-Action

I grew up watching Disney movies! Every time a new Disney movie came out my parents made sure I watched it and owned it on VHS! I’m noticing now that Disney wants to remake they’re animated movies but as live action! I’m okay with that as long as they are good and still give me the same great feelings that I had watching the animated version as a kid! I don’t even necessarily need to have that nestalgic feeling watching them, I just want my kids to be able to see these new versions and still have the experience I had as a kid.
With that being said my kids have seen most of the old animated Disney movies because I just feel that every child should see the classic Disney movies and have all of the songs stuck in their heads!

Disney has already remade some of their classics. Everyone forgets about 101 Dalmations. I feel like that movie was a pretty good live action remake. My kids watched it and enjoyed it. I didn’t mind Maleficent. I know a lot of people didn’t like that movie and I can understand why, but I can also see what they were trying to do with the character. They tried to make sense of why she became evil and humanize her. I can appreciate that. They also remade Cinderella which was pretty good, I’ve never been a huge fan of Cinderella so that movie didn’t hit with me that strongly. Jungle Book was amazing and byfar their best live action remake so far.

Now I heard that there are going to be remakes of Beauty and the Beast (which I heard from the footage they showed at D23 is going to be fantastic) Mulan, Tinker Bell, Tarzan, Dumbo, and Little Mermaid. I don’t think the live action Tarzan that is coming out July 1st is the Disney version. Now I believe that the same goes for the Little Mermaid remake. I believe that version is based off of the book that inspired the Disney movie, which means there won’t be any of the music, Sebastian the crab won’t be in it, and I don’t believe Ariel had red hair in the book so that’s probably not going to happen in the movie either.

When I first heard that Disney wants to make a Mulan live action remake I got very excited because I LOVE Mulan it’s in my top 5 favorite Disney movies for sure! But then I started thinking about who they could get to star in this movie without whitewashing the movie. After think a while about it I came up with Brenda Song as Mulan, Harry Shum Jr as Shang, and Eddie Murphy could voice Mushu again! I think that would be perfect! I just don’t know if Brenda Song can sing but I feel like she has sung before on Disney. I just don’t want that movie to get whitewashed, that would be horrible. I have the same feelings about if they decide to make Aladdin. No one in the Aladdin movie is white. Who is going to be cast as Aladdin and Jasmine? The other big elephant in the room is who would voice Genie? Robin Williams did such a great job as Genie that you can’t see the big blue genie without hearing Robin Williams voice! That’s going to be a tough one for anyone remaking it but I do want to see it happen!

I have my own personal list of animated movies that I would LOVE to see Disney remake.

  • Aladdin
  • Peter Pan (the animated version not all these versions that people have been trying to make based off of books)
  • Alice in Wonderland (again the animated version not the book versions)
  • Sleeping Beauty
  • Little Mermaind (not the book version)
  • Snow White (not the book version)
  • Pocahontas (I want Shay Mitchell from Pretty Little Liars to play her!!!!)

There’s two more movies that I’m on the fence about. Hercules and Lion King. I feel the Hercules story has been told sooooo many times that unfortunately I don’t know if Disney should try to do it live action. After seeing Jungle Book I feel that they could definitely remake Lion King with that new technology but I don’t know if they should. Lion King is such a special movie, and I don’t know that people would go out to see a live action Lion King movie that has no humans in it.

Please leave a comment. I would like to hear your thoughts on the movies you would like to see remade into live action, which movies you don’t want to see that they might be making, casting decisions, and what movies you’re excited to see them remake.

Thank you for reading!!

Leave a Reply

