Why I’ve been fascinated with WWII

Ever since I really learned about World War II in middle school I’ve been very fascinated with that time period! When I was in school I was never into the books that the teachers made us read, but after learning about what went on in WWII I read every book my history teacher gave me and even went to the library and found other books about it.

I find it fascinating that one man could manipulate so many people into believing in the hate that he did. The fact that he was able to kill so many Jewish people is astonishing! Even if you fell for what Hitler was preaching, once you witnessed the concentration camps and saw innocent people and children being gassed and slaughtered, how could you continue to stand by him? I guess he must’ve instilled enough fear that people had to keep going along with him.

I watched The Boy In The Striped Pajamas and at first I was a little bored by the movie but once they got into the relationship of the children it was beautiful!! Here you had Bruno who was at the time born into the right heritage and the you had Shmuel who was born Jewish. They were no different from each other. Bruno didn’t even know what was going on and just wanted his friend to have fun like him. I won’t spoil the end of the story but it’s very sad and unfortunate. But to think that that happened all the time is heartbreaking! 

I’m still amazed that there are people who don’t believe in the holocaust. How do you explain that? I think it fascinates me so much because I can’t believe that humans could be that cruel. When you look at things happening today in the Middle East it’s the same just not to the extreme as it was back then, but we need to learn, acknowledge and accept the past so that we don’t repeat it! 

I know I babbled on and on but it’s just what was on my mind at the moment! 

Leave a Reply

